2 min read

Contributions and Leadership Recognized at 8th Annual Membership Awards Ceremony

Featured Image

Continuing the tradition of MIPI Alliance members honoring the contributions and achievements of their peers, MIPI hosted a virtual ceremony on 9 June to recognize the 2020 recipients of the MIPI Alliance Membership Awards.

The awards are presented annually to individual and corporate members for their outstanding contributions, leadership and achievements within the Alliance.

An awards and recognition committee reviews nominations from MIPI members and recommends the recipients for approval by the MIPI Alliance Board of Directors. The 2020 awards were presented to recipients in five categories for their work advancing MIPI Alliance specifications and initiatives.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Raj Kumar Nagpal (Synopsys)
Raj received this honor for his unparalleled dedication to the continued development and enhancement of the MIPI PHY specifications, as evidenced by his leadership as chair of the MIPI PHY Steering Group and the D-PHY Working Group, and as co-chair of the A-PHY Working Group. He is also a frequent contributor to webinars, presentations, videos and industry publications.

Corporate Award

A founding member of the Alliance, STMicroelectronics was recognized for its enduring support and commitment to the organization's success. ST has provided visionary and steady leadership over the past 18 years, with representatives serving on the MIPI board, Technical Steering Group and other working groups. Joel Huloux, ST director of lobbying and standardization, and chairman of MIPI Alliance, accepted the award on behalf of the company.

Distinguished Service Award

MIPI-Alliance-Award-DSA-RB-2020Rajesh Bhaskar and Matthew Schnoor (Intel Corporation)
Two members of the MIPI I3C Working Group, both from Intel, received the award for their outstanding collaborative efforts in 2020.

Rajesh was recognized for his key role in aligning JEDEC and MIPI activities related to the adoption of MIPI I3C Basic in JEDEC's Sideband Bus and DDR5 standards. As the MIPI I3C® liaison to JEDEC, he worked diligently within both organizations to gather requirements and develop mutually beneficial solutions within the I3C Basic specification.

MIPI-Alliance-Award-DSA-MS-2020Matthew received the Distinguished Service Award for his substantial contributions to MIPI I3C activities across multiple working groups. As a fundamental contributor to the MIPI I3C, I3C Basic, I3C Host Controller Interface (MIPI I3C HCI℠) and Debug for I3C℠ specifications, Matthew has used his extensive knowledge to align I3C development activities and routinely champions the adoption of I3C through webinars, supporting resources and industry articles.

Working Group Leadership Award

Daisuke Sonoda (KIOXIA Corporation) and Giuseppe Tofanicchio (STMicroelectronics)
MIPI-Alliance-Award-WG-Recipients-2020Vice chair of the UniPro Working Group, Daisuke was awarded for his leadership in coordinating development activities for the MIPI UniPro® specification and his guidance to implementers through the creation of supporting resources such as application notes and conformance test suites.

Giuseppe received this award for his active participation in multiple automotive-related working groups and subgroups, including the A-PHY, Camera and Security working groups. His system-wide perspectives and contributions were key to addressing the safety and security requirements of the automotive market.

Special Achievement Award

MIPI DevCon Event Team
The entire MIPI DevCon event team received special recognition for pivoting from an in-person to a virtual 2020 event, which drew more than 350 attendees from around the world. MIPI DevCon Steering Committee leaders and MIPI team members recognized for the effort included Justin Endo (Mixel Inc.), DevCon Steering Committee chair; Roy Chestnut (Teledyne LeCroy), DevCon Steering Committee vice chair; Kevin Yee (Samsung Electronics Co.), Marketing Steering Group chair; and MIPI support team members Dervla Froemming, Lisa Magliaro, Christina Slape, Sharmion Kerley, Ian Smith and Melanie Cole.

Read more about the 2020 award recipients »